Awkward Girl vs The Party People

As I said before, I go to a school that has a bit of a notorious party-school reputation. Well today is perhaps the largest day of partying that happens all year. The boozy, crazed, day-ger (day rager, for those of you fortunate enough to have no idea what that is) attracts people in the thousands, and draws students from far out of town. It’s a sloppy mess that always results in injuries, damaged property, and an all-around head-ache for our police department. Because of that, I make a point to have no part in it whatsoever.

Most people started off today by slathering on some tan-in-a-can, picking out the perfect belly-revealing crop top (or the equivalent neon or patterned short-shorts for the male crowd), and by noon everyone already had a buzz. When I woke up today, I laid in bed for a while, reading On Writing by Stephen King, before getting up and putting on my workout clothes (because I tell myself if I put them on, I am more likely to work out), and heading to the dining commons for brunch.

WELL, little did I know that the hordes had infiltrated not only campus, but the one place where I can usually count on getting a quiet and solitary meal in the mornings. I walked into the dinning commons like normal, and handed the lady my card to swipe me in, and that is when I realized that we had been taken over. My heart dropped, and my fight or flight kicked in, screaming at me to RUN AWAY! But my card had already been swiped. I had paid for this meal. There was no turning back.

I walked with my arms close to my sides, chin down, trying to avoid making eye contact or bumping into the hundreds of people wandering around in their festival-like attire, clearly oblivious to ALL of the general protocol that those who frequent this dining commons know naturally.

I stood in a line 30 people deep, waiting for my egg whites and potatoes, still amazed at the sheer amount of people inside a place that is usually deserted at 11 AM on a Saturday morning. After that, I waited in an equally long line for some fruit, and that was when I could really tell that no one actually went here. To the girl in the Bose State t-shirt, “No, I am not waiting for fruit. I like to just stand here for no reason with an empty bowel in my hand. GO HOME!”

Once I finally got all my food, and found a place to sit down where I wasn’t bumping elbows with the non-students next to me (which took twice as long as usual) I ate my food quickly, determined to leave this hell-hole as soon as I could.

Needless to say, I will spend the rest of my day holed up in my room, avoiding all future awkward interactions with my drunken brethren.

About therealawkwardgirl

therealawkwardgirl.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Awkward Girl vs The Party People

  1. ellyisginger says:

    Why not just get into the party atmosphere Maaaaan!

Leave a Reply

